On Facebook you have the options of either deactivating and deleting your account.
If you deactivate your account:
You can reactivate it whenever you want. This will mean you can access your photos, videos, friends and groups again.
People can’t see your timeline or find your account in a search unless you reactivate the account.
Some things may remain visible (for example: private messages you have sent).
You can reactivate your account at any time by logging back into Facebook or by using your Facebook account to log in somewhere else. You’ll need to have access to the email or mobile number you use to log in to complete the reactivation.
To permanently delete your account:
From your main profile, click account in the top right of Facebook.
Select Settings & privacy, then click Settings.
Click Your Facebook information in the left column. If you have Facebook access to a page in the new Pages experience: Click Privacy, then click Your Facebook information.
Click Deactivation and deletion.
Choose Delete Account, then click Continue to account deletion.
Click Delete Account, enter your password and then click Continue.
What happens if you permanently delete your Facebook account?
- You won’t be able to reactivate your account
- Your profile, photos, posts, videos and everything else you’ve added will be permanently deleted. You won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added.
- You’ll no longer be able to use Facebook Messenger.
- You won’t be able to use Facebook Login for other apps that you may have signed up for with your Facebook account, such as Spotify or Pinterest. You may need to contact the apps and websites to recover those accounts.
- Some information, such as messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to them after you’ve deleted your account. Copies of messages that you’ve sent are stored in your friends’ inboxes.
- If you use your Facebook account to log in to Oculus, deleting your Facebook account will also delete your Oculus information. This includes your app purchases and your achievements. You will no longer be able to return any apps and will lose any existing store credits.
- Pages that only you control will also be deleted. If you don’t want your Page to be deleted, you can give someone else full control of your Page. You’ll then be able to delete your account without deleting the Page.